

Office or Committee Name: Research Section

Officer or Chairperson Name: Brian Mealor, Chair (bamealor@uwyo.edu)

Date of Preparation (include year): March 2020

Activities during the year:

A total of 480 papers (333 oral presentations; 147 posters) were submitted for the annual meeting, including the 3 general session presentations. WSWS AND WSSA presentations by section were as follows:

	Project/Section	Oral presentations	Poster presentations
WSWS project titles	General Session	3	
	Basic Biology and Ecology	36	28
	Education and Regulatory		
	Teaching and Technology Transfer	11	12
	Weeds of Agronomic Crops	83	89
	Weeds of Horticultural Crops	17	22
	Weeds of Range, Forests, and Natural Areas	45	18
	Undergraduate Posters		?
WSSA project titles	Turf and Ornamental	12	14
	Formulations and Adjuvants	13	9
	Biocontrol of Weeds	7	1
	Physiology	22	10
	Integrated Weed Management	24	33
	Soil and Environment Aspects	0	5

Discussion Topics for Project Areas at the 2020 Annual Meeting:

Weeds of Range, Forests, and Natural	Compiling and using regional scale infestation	
Areas	maps for more efficient management of invasive	
	weeds	
Weeds of Horticultural Crops	Encouraging innovation between public	
_	institutions and industry	
Weeds of Agronomic Crops	Cultural & Mechanical Weed Management:	
•	What's Working?	
Basic Biology and Ecology	How can we apply basic herbicide resistance	
	knowledge to weed management practices?	
Teaching and Technology Transfer	What do you wish graduate school would have	
	taught you?	

Project Chairs and Chairs-Elect for the 2020 WSWS Annual Meeting:

Weeds of Range, Forest, and Natural Areas

Chair (2020): Harry Quicke, Bayer CropScience harry.quicke@bayer.com Chair-elect (Chair 2021): Shannon Clark, Colorado State University shannon.clark@colostate.edu

Basic Biology and Ecology

Chair 2020: Caio Brunharo, Oregon State University, <u>caio.brunharo@oregonstate.edu</u> Chair-elect (chair 2021): Neeta Soni, Colorado State University, <u>Neeta.Soni@colostate.edu</u>

Teaching and Technology Transfer

Chair 2020: Thomas Getts, University of California Cooperative Extension <u>tjgetts@ucanr.edu</u> Chair-elect (chair 2021): Chris Mayo, Bayer CropScience <u>Christopher.Mayo@bayer.com</u>

Weeds of Agronomic Crops

Chair 2020: Misha Manuchehri, Oklahoma State University, <u>misha.manuchehri@okstate.edu</u> Chair-elect (chair 2021): Joseph Ikley, North Dakota State University, <u>Joseph.ikley@ndsu.edu</u>

Weeds of Horticultural Crops

2020 Chair: Jesse Richardson, Corteva AgriScience, <u>jesse.richardson@corteva.com</u> Chair-elect (chair 2021): Harlene Hatterman-Valenti, North Dakota State University h.hatterman.valenti@ndsu.edu

Recommendations for Board Action: none

Budget Needs: none

Name of Person Preparing This Report: Brian Mealor