

Office or Committee Name: Fellows and Honorary Members

Officer or Chairperson Name: Joan Campbell **Date of Preparation (include year):** March 3, 2019

Activities during the year:

Two nominations were submitted to the committee for Fellow Award and one was carried over from 2018. The committee suggested Joe Yenish from the private sector and Drew Lyon from the public sector for Board approval. The third candidate will be held over for consideration in 2020.

Recommendations for Board Action:

- 1. Suggestion was made to Tim Miller to correct the Bylaws and Operating Guide. The wrong By-Laws Article is referenced. He has agreed and this should not require a Board approval or member vote since it is a missed change or typographical error. Affected sections are attached.
- 2. Suggest amending the Bylaws criteria for Fellow by adding the underscored phrase:

[Section 1. Fellows of the Society are members who have given meritorious service to the Society and in weed science, and who are elected by two-thirds majority of the Board of Directors. Not more than two Fellows shall be selected each year. A cumulative list of Fellows shall be published each year in the Program and in the Proceedings.]

The current wording suggests a person could be a Fellow without service to the Society. Examples from Weed Science Society of America and Agronomy Society of America are attached for reference. This may have been a holdover from a time the Society had Honorary member and no Fellow award.

Budget Needs: none

Name of Person Preparing This Report: Joan Campbell