

2020 Annual Meeting – Maui, HI

Office or Committee Name: Awards Committee **Officer or Chairperson Name:** Lesley Beckworth **Date of Preparation (include year):** February 18, 2020

Activities during the year:

Call for nominations for distinguished service awards were submitted to the summer newsletter, and a reminder in the fall issue.

There were four distinguished achievement award nominations submitted this year, one for Outstanding Weed Scientist-Public Sector, one for Outstanding Weed Scientist – Private Sector, one for Outstanding Weed Scientist -Early Career, and one for Outstanding Weed Manager. The committee unanimously recommended to award these nominees based on strong submission packages. No nominations were received for WSWS Professional Staff.

The "**Outstanding Weed Scientist – Public Sector**" was awarded to Timothy "Tim" Harrington (USFS).

The "**Outstanding Weed Scientist – Private Sector**" was awarded to Stephen "Marty" Schraer (Syngenta).

The "**Outstanding Weed Scientist – Early Career**" was awarded to Vipan Kumar (Kansas State University).

The "Outstanding Weed Manager" was awarded to Steve Sauer (Boulder County, CO).

There were 12 entries for the student travel awards. The following students were selected recipients of the "**WSWS Elena Sanchez Outstanding Student Scholarship Program**": Jaycie Arndt (University of Wyoming) – M.S. graduate student Hudson Takano (Colorado State University) – Ph.D. graduate student Hannah Kuhns (University of Wyoming) – M.S. graduate student

Recommendations for Board Action:

One new committee member should be named to replace Prashant Jha who will be rotating off after three years of service on the committee.

Continue to encourage nominations for distinguished achievement awards. There are many deserving members but very few nominations.

Budget Needs: \$3000 funding for student scholarships. Plaques for winners.

Name of Person Preparing This Report: Lesley Beckworth