

WSWS Officer and Committee Report Annual Board Meeting – March 10, 2013

Committee Name: Nominations

Chairperson Name: Rich Zollinger

Date of Preparation: Feb 24, 2014

Committee Activities during the Year:

Successfully identified 2 people to run for each of the following offices:

President Elect (private sector)

Secretary

Research Section Chair

Education and Regulatory Section Chair

The membership was invited to vote in the election via the WSWS website in early December, 2013, slightly delayed versus normal due to the new website delayed opening. Results were compiled on December 21st and all candidates, both successful and otherwise were contacted by WSWS President Roger Gast. The candidates with (*) are the newly elected officers as indicated, below:

2014 Candidates
President-Elect
D. Chad Cummings (Dow AgroSciences)
Joe Yenish (Dow AgroSciences) *
Secretary
Lars Baker (State of Wyoming)
Curtis Rainbolt (BASF)*
Research Section Chair
Stephen Colbert (duPont)
Jane Mangold (Montana State Univ) *
Education and Regulatory Section
Greg Dahl (Winflield Solutions)
Sandra McDonald (Mountain West Pest)*

Recommendations for Board Action:

The WSWS has a "tradition" of alternating between academia and industry for President-Elect. Over 30 different individuals from industry were contacted to consider running for President-Elect and all declined the invitation. For many, their supervisors would not allow them to run and for others they had such a huge territory or were so overwhelmed in their own jobs that they did have the time to devote to this important position. It was far past the time when candidates were to be identified when two members accepted to run.

Nomination committee members in the future may have an equal or even more difficult time in finding candidates from industry to run for this office. In the future it may be necessary to consider the entire WSWS membership for candidates to run for President- Elect.

Budget Needs: None

Suggestions for the Future: See recommendations above.

Current Committee Members: Rich Zollinger (chair), Pam Hutchison, Joe Yenish, Kia Umeda (Past President)

Name of Person Preparing This Report: Rich Zollinger