

WSWS Officer and Committee Report Annual Board Meeting – March 10, 2013

Office or Committee Name: Awards

Officer or Chairperson Name: Richard N. Arnold

Date of Preparation (include year): February 10, 2014

Committee Activities during the Year:

Scholarship Awards:

The Award committee received five applications for the three WSWS Scholarships. All scholarship packages were submitted on or prior to our October 1 deadline. Roger and Phil were notified so Roger could send letters to each applicant and to the winners.

The 2014 scholarship winners are:

1. Halley Berg

Montana State University

Dept. Land Resources and Environmental Sciences

Degree sought: M.S. in Land Rehabilitation

Advisor: Dr. Jane Mangold

Title of Research: Integrated Management of Tall Buttercup (Ranunculus acris) in

Montana Meadows.

2. Ashley Cunningham

New Mexico State University

Dept. Entomology, Plant Pathology and Weed Science

Degree sought: M.S. in Agricultural Biology

Advisor: Dr. Brian Schutte

Title of Research: Impacts of annual weed seed bank deposits on weed control for

agricultural cropping systems in New Mexico.

3. Krista Ehlert

Montana State University

Dept. Land Resources and Environmental Sciences

Degree sought: Ph.D

Advisor: Drs. Fabian Menalled and Jane Mangold

Title of Research: Optimizing efficacy of downy brome (Bromus tectorum) biocontrol

in crops and rangelands: integration and implementation.

WSWS Member Achievement Awards

The committee evaluated three nominations before the December 1 deadline and one nomination was a carryover from 2013. We had nominations in three categories: Outstanding Weed Science Private Sector, Professional Staff and Weed Manager. We made the following recommendations to Roger on December 9, 2013.

OUTSTANDING WEED SCIENTIST-PRIVATE SECTOR:

Nominee: Charlie Hicks Nominator: Monte Anderson

PROFESSIONAL STAFF:

Nominee: Ed Davis Nominator: Joe Yenish

WEED MANAGER: Nominee: Rita Beard Nominator: Todd Neel

Recommendations for Board Action:

I do not know if a decision has been made for the following:

- 1. Decide if a former scholarship winner may apply the following year (s). The Awards committee would prefer that one scholarship be awarded during a graduate program but an undergraduate scholarship winner could reapply after entering a graduate program.
- 2. Develop an Award committee procedure when a scholarship applicant's advisor is also an Award committee member.
- 3. The WSWS board and members are encouraged to recruit nominees for WSWS awards.

Budget Needs: Similar to past years.

Suggestions for the Future: Please see recommendations for Board action.

Current Committee Members:

Richard N. Arnold, Carol Mallory-Smith, and Jeff Tichota (rotating off).

Name of Person Preparing This Report:

Richard N. Arnold