

WSWS Officer and Committee Report (Portland Summer Meeting 2009)

Office or Committee Name: Nominating

Officer or Chairperson Name and Committee Members: Don Morishita, Ralph Whitesides, Jill Schroeder, and Dan Ball

Date of Preparation (include year): July 13, 2009

Activities during the Year: Committee met during WSWS Annual Meeting in Albuquerque, NM to discuss potential nominees for WSWS offices. For 2010-2011 officers, the committee needed to compile a list of nominees for President-elect (private sector), Secretary, Research Section Chair-elect, and Education and Regulatory Section Chair-elect. Several members were considered by the committee for nomination. A compiled list of member names will be maintained and passed on to the next committee chair.

The following members were contacted by the chair and have agreed to be considered as nominees for the following positions.

President-elect: Peter Forster Vanelle Peterson

<u>Secretary:</u> Corey Ransom Rick Boydston

Research Section Chair-elect Joe Yenish Kelly Luff

Education and Regulatory Section Chair-elect: Curtis Thompson Tim Prather

Recommendations for Board Action:

The Nominating Committee recognizes that Vanelle Peterson is currently serving as Research Section Chair-elect. However, this committee felt that Vanelle is an excellent candidate for President-elect and that the WSWS Constitution provides for filling her position as Research Chair in the event she is elected. Vanelle is also aware of this and is willing to continue serving as 2010-2011 Research Section Chair or as 2010-2011 President-elect, if elected. Thus, this Committee recommends approval of this slate of candidates for the respective WSWS offices.

Budget Needs: None

Suggestions for the Future: Suggested Changes in Operating Guide: None

Name of Person Preparing This Report: Don W. Morishita