

WSWS Officer and Committee Report 2019 Denver, CO

Office or Committee Name: Awards Committee

Officer or Chairperson Name: Prashant Jha

Date of Preparation (include year): March 20, 2019

Committee Activities during the Year:

Call for nominations for distinguished service awards were submitted to the summer newsletter, and a reminder in the fall issue.

There were six distinguished achievement award nominations submitted this year, one for Outstanding Weed Scientist-Public Sector, two for Outstanding Weed Scientist – Private Sector, one for Outstanding Weed Scientist - Early Career, and two for WSWS Professional Staff.

The "Outstanding Weed Scientist – Public" was awarded to Don Morishita (University of Idaho)

The "Outstanding Weed Scientist – Private" was awarded to William (Bill) Cobb (Cobb Consulting Services)

The "Outstanding Weed Scientist - Early Career" was awarded to Todd Gaines (Colorado State University)

The "WSWS Professional Staff" was awarded to Traci Rauch (University of Idaho)

There were 6 entries for the student travel awards, 6 graduate and no undergraduate students. The following students were selected recipients of the "WSWS Elena Sanchez Outstanding Student Scholarship Program":

Larissa Larocca de Souza (Oregon State Univ); MS Graduate student Ramawatar Yadav (Montana State Univ); PhD Graduate Student Lucas Kopecky Bobadilla (Oregon State Univ); MS Graduate Student

Recommendations for Board Action:

One new committee member should be named to replace Roger Gast who will be rotating off.

Budget Needs: \$3000 funding for student scholarships. Plaques for winners.

Suggestions for the Future: None

Current Committee Members: Roger Gast, Prashant Jha (chair), Leslie Beckworth

Name of Person Preparing This Report: Prashant Jha