

## WSWS Officer and Committee Report 2017 Coeur d'Alene, ID March 13, 8am to 5pm

Office or Committee Name: Awards Committee

**Officer or Chairperson Name:** Roger Gast

**Date of Preparation (include year):** February 26, 2017

## **Committee Activities during the Year:**

Call for nominations for distinguished service awards were submitted to the summer newsletter, and a reminder in the fall issue, and to the webmaster for posting on the website. A follow up reminder email was issued in early November. Still only one distinguished achievement award nomination was submitted this year. The committee unanimously recommended to award this nominee based on the strong submission package. The Outstanding Weed Scientist, Early Career was awarded to Erik Lehnhoff (NMSU).

The following students were selected recipients of the "WSWS Elena Sanchez Outstanding Student Scholarship Program": Mariano Galla (UC-Davis), Coaio Augusto de Castro Grossi Brunharo (UC-Davis) and Neeta Soni (CSU).

## **Recommendations for Board Action:**

A new committee member should be named to replace Alan Helm who will be rotating off.

**Budget Needs:** \$3000 funding for student scholarships. Plaques for winners.

## **Suggestions for the Future:**

As mentioned before we suggest the board consider a separate undergraduate travel award since it is difficult for them to compete with the graduate students.

Current Committee Members: Alan Helm, Gustavo Sbatella, Roger Gast (chair)

**Name of Person Preparing This Report:** Roger Gast