

Office or Committee Name: Awards Committee Officer or Chairperson Name: Drew Lyon

Date of Preparation (include year): March 4, 2025

Activities during the year:

Calls for nominations for the Distinguished Achievement Awards, the Elena Sanchez Memorial Outstanding Student Scholarship, and the Roland Schirman Memorial Travel Grant were published in the WSWS Summer 2024 newsletter and on the WSWS website. The call for nominations for the Distinguished Achievement Awards was published again in the WSWS Fall 2024 newsletter.

As done in 2023, the committee compiled a list of potential nominees and nominators for each of the Distinguished Achievement Awards. Potential nominators were contacted directly to ask if they were willing to make the requested nomination. A total of nine nominations were received: six from direct committee efforts and three from the general call for nominations. The committee selected a winner for each of the six available awards (OWS Early Career Public, OWS Early Career Private, OWS Private, OWS Public, Professional Staff, Weed Manager).

The committee received six applications for the Elena Sanchez Outstanding Student Scholarship and selected three awardees. The winners were announced in the WSWS Fall 2024 newsletter with a short bio provided for each winner. Eric Gustafson mailed checks for \$1,000 to each scholarship recipient.

The committee received three applications for the Roland Schirman Memorial Travel Grant. One winner was selected. Eric Gustafson mailed the check for \$1,000 to the grant recipient.

Recommendations for Board Action:

There are currently two links to information on the Annual Awards webpage related to the Distinguished Achievement Awards. We suggest a single link to a single document containing the necessary information for nominations.

Budget Needs:

For 2026, the Awards Committee requests \$3,000 for the Elena Sanchez Scholarships, with \$1,000 for each of three students, and \$1,000 for the Roland Schirman Memorial Travel Grant.

Name of Person Preparing This Report: Drew Lyon; other committee members are Harry Quicke, Nevin Lawrence, and Adeyemi Olanrewaju.